Spinal Thoughts VII – Let’s Not Twist Again – Putting Away the Chubby Checker Records

During my recent hospital stay and current recovery from herniated disk surgery, I have practiced some precautions.

It is very hard to have to obey someone who only knows you through an x-ray or peeking into your insides with a tiny camera. I have been attempting to remain in alignment. No, not mental or spiritual alignment, but in a way not to twist my spine in any way shape or form. So I thought how much fun it is to move around, freely.

Put away the records. There will be no twisting until further notice. No Yoga, no tai chi, no practice other than to shove a big pillow between my legs and lie on my side to watch TV. This is no fun. I like to stretch. I like Yoga positions and challenging myself to balance perfectly in tai chi.

Nor can I drive. I can ride in a car, though. I can walk around the block. Once. But I can’t sustain long drives to and from Toms River every time Dad’s breathing pattern changes. Dad! I’m on restricted duty here. I can’t describe how uncomfortable it is at the end of a normal day. Even sitting around all day watching Dark Shadows on Netflix gets tired after a while.

Leave a Reply

