Spinal Thoughts X – Whatever Happened to Good Ol’ Aspirin?

Before I forget, I thought I’d record for posterity what was instilled into my system during my hospital visit in February. Sure beats the past, when a swig of whiskey settled the issue for a poor patient.

I won’t list the medications themselves. Just the side effects. This is an amazing review!

  • skin rash
  • high blood sugar, confusion, flushing, pain or burning at site of injection
  • belly pain, nausea/vomiting, constipation
  • dizziness, headache, diarrhea
  • emotional ups and downs, dizziness, shakiness, change in balance, hostility
  • low blood sugar, blurred vision, headache, nausea
  • nausea/vomiting, dizziness, constipation, lightheadedness
  • low blood sugar, nausea/vomiting, weight gain, irritation where shot is given
  • bone pain, nausea or vomiting, cough, flushing, feeling tired or weak
  • low blood sugar, stomach pain, constipation, nausea or vomiting, loss of appetite
  • high blood sugar, confusion, flushing, pain or burning at site of injection
  • dizziness, tired, constipation, blurred vision, headache
  • nausea/vomiting, dizziness, constipation, lightheadedness
  • stomach pain
  • dizziness or trouble standing, ringing in the ears or trouble hearing, rash or hives, urinating less, diarrhea

I feel sorry for the medical staff, should even one of these symptoms arise. Or a couple. Actually, I didn’t have any of these side effects, at least that I remember, except there was one point where my ears did ring. I remember thinking “how do you actually pronounce ‘tinnitus’.” It was a hoot. No, more l ike a trill, don’t mind the pun.

Bear in mind, during the whole ingestion process, I was immobilized and unable to see much else than the ceiling or the curtain separating me from Shirley, as she continued her steady decline into helpless morbidity. When you are constrained to lying flat on your back for endless hours, the administration of those agents is actually a diversion, at least for me. Waiting for each episode of calmness, or sleepiness was a blessing during that stressful time.

Glad to be home. Not on most of these pharmaceuticals any more, and thinking a little more clear-headed. Hence, this blog. My advice – just be strong, and know it will pass. Or, as I said to my angels watching over me – you had my back!

Leave a Reply

