Jo’s Not-so-Silent Night

Ever wonder what the difference is between Christian or Jewish or any other established religion’s traditions and legends are at this time of the year and mine, a Pagan, earth-centered tradition? It’s so easy.

I can prove my faith. I can prove that it gets darker around this time of the year, and that no crops are growing and that the fur on my animal companions is getting longer and thicker. I can prove that in a couple of weeks, as the moon waxes to full, there will be an impressive, noticeable lengthening of the daylight and a shortening of the nights. The nights right now are downright oppressive. We are hardly done with dinner, and it feels as if there are countless hours stretching ahead before we sleep.

So, I read, watch TV, play computer games and delete blurry photos from my archives.

It is not strange to admit that some things can be proven, and should be acknowledged amidst all the fascination with olden tales. What is strange is the plastic santa claus or animated snowman sidling up to the column of wise “men” on their way to the front yard mangers here in town. There seems to be a dichotomy. Many homes have one side of their display devoted to Disneyland icons or Charley Brown statues, and the other side mangered complete with almost life-sized donkeys and sheep, who were supposed to have kept the baby Jesus warm and safe. All this is fine. I am more than elated that Santa is still an honored guest at the birth of the Sun. For that is all it is. Any savior birth stories we know are but stories, put together and preserved at the whim of a Pope or writer, some 2,000 years ago.

We must remember that the physical, empirically proven event of the Sun actually being reborn on the Solstice is beyond time, and is the universal signal for rejoicing and renewal with our families, friends, and livestock.

Once I am geared up to celebrate the Solstice, the shortest day of the year, my spirit rejoices as well. I know that soon, I will be able to enjoy a later walk with Missy, despite the cold. I know that the cold will eventually give way to warm, and occasionally foggy mornings will be extra welcomed.

I know that once again, I can look forward to a new year and new experiences. Life goes on, and it is okay to wear my pentacle and talk about earthly tidings.

Leave a Reply

