wAXING Tecchy Twice Again

Turns out that to uninstall Office 2007 Pro from my new Win8.1 laptop, I needed to use the install disk #1(?) – every other attempt had failed.

Undaunted, I used the disk to completely remove the offending apps and am now in the process of reinstalling.

It’s not that I don’t like the apps on Office. But Microsoft chose to pull my (and others in BCUG) subscription to Office 365, which they gifted us as a user group, for one year. Well, that year was up and here we are. I do like Office 2007. Although outdated by some standards, it still has the full gamut of Office programs that will cover me for any work I do. I have my beloved Publisher, which is a baby graphics program that uses “order” instead of layers. I have my Access, which is not a big mystery as it may be if I didn’t actually teach it for 10 years, and use it occasionally to pick up a BCUG database.

I’ll miss Office 365’s usage of the cloud, but can get around that easily. I’m finding more and more people are getting used to accessing shared files instead of hassling with flash drives and disks and bloated email messages.

So, on to greater things, with a clean boot, and new horizons, albeit drawn in word’s shapes feature.

Leave a Reply

